We are SONICO!

 “In Argentina you can change everything except tango”
Astor Piazzolla


SONICO, created in Brussels (Belgium) in 2015, has rescued the repertoire of Argentine composer Eduardo Rovira, often mistakenly considered ‘the other Astor Piazzolla’. However, Rovira, was a key composer in the creation of “new tango,” who made his own imprint during the Buenos Aires vanguard of the 1960s.

In August 2018, SONICO presented their first album “Eduardo Rovira: La Otra Vanguardia” (CD /LP) at the Festival de Tango BA (Argentina). In March 2019, the European release of their first album was performed at BOZAR, Palace of Fine Arts in Brussels.

“Eduardo Rovira: La Otra Vanguardia” is the first album which exclusively features pieces written by Eduardo Rovira. This recording, made at the National Opera of Belgium (“La Monnaie”) in January 2018, includes 12 of Eduardo Rovira’s compositions and original arrangements. Eduardo Rovira: La Otra Vanguardia” was chosen as one of the top 10 tango albums by Billboard magazine.

Very few musicians have taken as much risk and crossed as many borders as Eduardo Rovira. His innovations in tango let even Astor Piazzolla to say “there was a time that Rovira was more revolutionary than me.” He suffered – like Astor – from the indifference of the public at a time when the decline of the music of Buenos Aires as the favorite  started at the hands of a giant wave of styles that changed the culture not only in Buenos Aires but also around the world. However, his work was like a gem ready to be discovered and to astonish those who have the same curiosity and nonconformity of the so established.
by Carlos Rosa, journalist


In just four years of existence, SONICO has become one of the most interesting contemporary tango ensembles, performing in several festivals and concert halls through Europe and Latin America such as: Brussels Jazz Flagey (BE), Pietrasanta in Concerto (IT), Usina del Arte (ARG), Tarbes Tango (FR), Schouwburg Leuven (BE), Scène Nationale Montbéliard (FR), Lateinamerikawoche Nürnberg (DE), Tango Brutal (NL), Midi-minimes (BE), Auditorium Esch (LUX), Plataforma Lavarden (ARG), Jazz à Verviers (BE), etc.

Since 2019, thanks to an artistic grant from the Flemish Community, SONICO has developed an artistic relation with the choreographer Lisi Estaras (Les Ballets C de la B). This collaboration explored the relationship between Rovira’s music and contemporary dance, with artistic residencies at Tanzhaus Zurich (CH) and S.N. Montbéliard (F). In March 2020, SONICO & Lisi Estaras premiered, at the Grote Post (Ostend, BE), THE HEART IS THE MUSCLE WE LIKE TO WORK OUT, the first dance creation inspired by Rovira’s music. This creation has been chosen for Les Plateaux 2020 edition (FR) and will be part of KVS/Koninklijke Vlaamse Schouwburg’s 20/21 season.  


In December 2019, SONICO recorded their second album, “Eduardo Rovira: Inedito e Inconcluso” (CD/LP/EP) at the Academiezaal (Sint-Truiden). In this album, SONICO has deepened their search for the musical essence of Eduardo Rovira. The album is the result of an important project of investigation, transcription and interpretation that has recovered 14 pieces based on manuscripts and non-commercial recordings.

In March 2021, SONICO celebrated the 100 year anniversary of the birth of Piazzolla with the avante-premiere of their upcoming album, “Piazzolla – Rovira: The Edge of Tango” at BOZAR/Klara festival and was the most-watched concert of the entire festival. the official release of ‘Piazzolla-Rovira: The Edge of Tango’ was broadcasted by Film & Arts  (AMC Networks, US) on 30 May 2021 in Latin America. This concert will be followed by 20 concerts on a European album release tour between October 2021 and May 2022.

Lysandre Donoso bandoneon  (FR/CL)
Carmela Delgado bandoneon (FR/SP)
Stephen Meyer violin (USA)
Daniel Hurtado violin (SP)
Oscar Quiñonez viola (MEX)
Guillaume Lagravière cello (FR)
Camilo Cordoba guitar (AR/IT)
Ariel Eberstein double bass (AR/BE)
Ivo De Greef piano (BE)

SONICO is supported by: